I feel a bit “juvenile”…

Word Press is a great blogging site, but it seems very complex. I’m still learning my way around “how” to use this…I’ve got a lot to learn. Please pardon my ignorance while plugging through the blogging process :D…

I was able to watch a couple of episodes of  “ghost whisperer” today. I came across one particular episode which I had already seen many times. I’m sure there was a title, but I’m not always that observant. It was about a woman that died (duh), named Tammy. She found Melinda in a market, by chance. As the story unfolded, it turns out that she had another name, “Sarah”. People who knew her, or were acquaintances of hers thought she left her husband for another man, “Roger”. As it turned out, Roger had kidnapped “Sarah”, and held her prisoner for a while, in a little room under the floor. She was brainwashed into believing Roger was actually a good man. He became her “savior” because he “rescued” her from the dungeon he placed her in. He became kind, gentle, but still very controlling. She lived with and accepted a new identity. “Sarah” (Tammy) #1, learned to believe Roger truly loved her. #2, was also extremely afraid of him and what he could or would do to her family if she tried to leave or do anything to upset him.

While I was watching this, something was said by “Sarah” to Melinda that caught me aback. I wish I could remember exactly what was said. I related to this! At one point, Sarah said how Roger controlled her… fear, isolation, guilt, remorse…and kept her afraid to leave him. The effect this type of brainwashing/psychological abuse had on her is called “Stockholm Syndrome”. There are documented cases where the victims actually refused to testify against their abusers because they believed the perpetrator was a “good” man. After all, he fed her, kept her safe, took care of her and was kind…(can you say, “but was he ALWAYS KIND?”)

I’ll be doing more research into the types of syndromes caused by psychological/emotional/physical abuse.

I could see myself in the women in the above mentioned story. I walked away, but I still don’t know what he is willing to do…I know he is absolutely capable of anything, and without any conscience, he has no limits aside from being found out. After all, it would ruin his facade and he would lose his control/edge.

More later

Leave a Reply

