An old man’s reaction to hearing “his” music

Visibly “lifeless”, having lived 10 years in a nursing home due to seizures. He had difficulty answering simple questions…until a wonderful young woman cared to find out his one true love…

This is one of many reasons that Music is such a power! Magical things happen because of music.

After a few minutes of listening to his music, listen as the man describes…in detail…why he loves music. He recalls his favorite artists and songs. What a gift we all have, and take for granted.

I had to include this, as I believe wholeheartedly that it is one key to being able to reidentify ourselves with our own person…who we are deep down, before the narcissist or psychopath. There are many times that we are left with intermittent confusion, regarding the hows and why’s of what we endured, as well as what we are left with. That is, for a time.

There are and will be days that we are scrambling…feeling again that we will never be fully functional again. I pray that time would speed up regarding this healing process, so that I may see the end result…days that I am myself again. Days that I don’t second-guess others around me or their intentions. Days that I can just be comfortable in my surroundings, whether at home or in a group. Look at the blessing music is to many of our nursing home residents, Several who are looked at as “unreachable”. Beautiful!!

It’s nice to see this man shine 🙂

3 thoughts on “An old man’s reaction to hearing “his” music

  1. This is beautiful–I’m glad I took the time to watch the video. those words, the ones they quoted on the screen for us–he was really shining there, wasn’t he? Yes–see this is why you need to keep singing. You never know when you are going to be touching someone’s heart. And yes, music can help us to reconnect with ourselves after a traumatic event. And even in the midst of those times when you are just down. I know it has done this for me. Thank you for sharing.

    1. Thank you for your beautiful comment! What a sweet heart you have. Yes, that man was DEFINITELY shining. Wonderful to see. I worked in nursing homes as a CNA for 5 years, helping those with Alzheimer’s and varying forms of Dementia. I have always thought it was a crime to not allow these people access to those areas that brought them the most joy.

      Songs and smells are 2 major areas which spark memories, that we thought were long gone. Have you ever smelled a ‘familiar’ smell, that took you WAY back? Maybe you just remembered the smell alone, but it was that same smell that brought you peace in a way…even if you couldn’t remember why the smell was familiar. Music does the same thing for people. We remember a song…the emotions that were tied to the song, linking us to them. We remember a type of camaraderie with the stanzas and melodies of the music and singing, and again it brings us a sense of peace. We might not even remember the scenario that we were in when we first heard it. I feel like I’m not making much sense here.

      Thank you for your encouragement! Your comment re-affirmed something for me just now, that I desperately needed. I have said the exact phrase to people, “you never know when someone’s heart will be touched” and it’s got to be perfectly timed for that particular person. That is not in MY hands…but god’s. Its just wonderful to see the transformation.

      I’m glad you enjoyed this video as much as I did. Brought tears to my eyes when I watched it. It seems you have the same connection with music as I do…

      I can’t tell you how happy I am to have met you.

  2. Pingback: Depressed elderly man reacts to music from his era | She Said…

Leave a Reply

