Encouragement for a challenge…

Beauty
Beauty (Photo credit: Rickydavid)

Of course I’m referring to my recent challenge to everyone, “How are you going to make today beautiful?”

You’ve probably noticed that the challenge and choice of “how” comes easiest when you have a good day. But, what about when you have a hard one? We’re really lucky when we can anticipate a difficult day, coming. Tomorrow will be hard for me. The other cashier is out on vacation this week, which means I am filling in for her with her schedule, instead of my normal closing shift. The good thing is that I’ll be off work tomorrow by 3:30. I’m REALLY looking forward to that! The bad thing is that part of HER job is to deliver to area businesses, and pick up products from other neighboring stores. The potential that I will have to drive to my X-monster’s store is pretty big. I’m not looking forward to that at ALL! If I am required to drive to that store, go in and see the monster, even for a second…it won’t leave me feeling all warm and fuzzy, that’s for sure! It scares me, to be quite honest.

How will I make today beautiful? Lend a word of encouragement to someone struggling, or help them in some way. It’s easy for me to stay in my little protected world. It’s hard sometimes, especially these days, to step out and reach out to someone else..especially someone at work. I don’t know how they view me, or whether they like me or not. All I know is that I do like most everyone at work, regardless of their feelings about me. I’ll always be there for them, like it or not. That’s my own personal challenge. Helping a stranger? That’s easy 😀

Sometimes we’ll find that the day becomes so busy, stressful, and down-right HARD, that it’s difficult to find a moment to do or say anything toward making that day “beautiful”. Don’t be discouraged!! That’s when we need to spend a quiet moment to find something good about our day. Or maybe it’s at that time when just a quiet moment, a cup of cocoa or anything IS EXACTLY WHAT YOU NEED! It’s exactly THAT for that particular day, which will make the day “worth it” and “Beautiful”.

That’s the wonderful thing about this..THERE ARE NO RULES!! lol! Can you remember when, as children, you wished for something like that? Today is the day 😀 ! This is the one area that is strictly, solely OURS! We make it what we want. Do you see areas that are a struggle for you, in your own life? Go against “your” norm, and then recognize the victory…there you have it…A BEAUTIFUL DAY! We all know how easy it is to stay in our hidey-hole…the “comfort zone”. It’s safe, there are no surprises, and entirely BORING! Also, it’s in that safe place that we are frozen in time. We aren’t allowed, nor do we allow ourselves to GROW. I have to reiterate…there is one rule…What ever you choose as your way to make your day beautiful, it needs to be uplifting, regenerating, and bring peace…even for a moment, whether that be for you or for someone else. We can’t go out and intentionally make some one else’s day horrible out of spite, and then walk away thinking, “now THAT was beautiful!” ! Haha :D…no matter how tempting it might be. I know how that is.

One thing that I’ve been working on is refusing to speak negative ANYTHING. If there is gossip about a co-worker that reaches me, I respond with something positive about that person. If someone grumps about something, I pull out something positive, intended to be encouraging for that person. Yesterday, one of the guys said something (I can’t remember exactly what) and I responded with, “that’s really true…we find our own humor, we make each day what we want”. His response?? “Did you just graduate from “Hallmark” school?” Yes, I laughed, though I recognized he was making fun of me. I don’t care. I know I’m finally doing and saying things that will enrich my own life…and hopefully someone else’s, too. In doing this, I’m drowning out negative influences. Lord knows, there’s been enough of THAT in my life!!

Ok, that’s it 😀

Peace!!!

4 thoughts on “Encouragement for a challenge…

  1. weareonebyruth

    Go you….I added both of your links too my post today. I am hoping for ripple effect to see this challenge bringing lots of beautiful moments. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Ruth! I am hoping for a ripple effect, with this one. We allow for too many unnecessary negative things, to flood our lives. Many are uncontrollable but we can combat their effect in our lives. I’ve had enough of that, and I know many others have, too. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder 🙂

Leave a Reply

